It’s the food!

During our weight loss challenges groups I will often mention some disturbing facts about the food we eat today but I normally take it easy as I am not one for taking the “scaring people’s approach” and honestly, I think people won’t even believe it and will think I am crazy! 🙂

We live in denial, we know it’s “easier” to believe that it’s not that bad than it is to take a real look at the issue, understand it and deal with it. But on the other hand, I think in the same process lies one of the keys to change, just when you have a real look at the issue, understand what it’s causing you, you can get “shocked enough” to deal with it by changing.

Myself, I find it very hard not to change once I have the knowledge of “why I should”…. for example, after I saw “Supersize me” I’ve cut fast food to a bare minimum  but after I saw “Fast food nation” I cut it to ZERO!

Supersize me made me realize the effects of it on my health but I was still thinking “once in a while is okay” but after watching “Fast food nation”, it was the information about how the industry works, how they abuse on their works (for most part illegal immigrants that was a “personal matter” to me) that made me not want t eat it anymore because I don’t want to give them my money. It was not for my health, it was for my principals and values.

Same thing with “Food Inc“, once I understood I was “voting with my money” I became a consumer that is much more aware of what I buy and that it does make a difference.

So my suggestion to you is, once you identify the habits that you want to change (we all have a pretty good idea of what’s good what’s not) research the topic, watch documentaries, read books, “shock yourself” and with enough information you will give yourself enough reasons to change.

By the way, I also recommend the book “The end of overeating“.

Now, what triggered this blog post was the article I was reading “The Truth About Your Weight Gain” where he says:

“Two out of three people in America today are either overweight or obese. …

How did we all get so darn fat?

Well, the simple answer is that we eat more calories….

…Why do we eat so many more calories? Are we suddenly more gluttonous? Do we have some kind of collective death wish? Is the entire country hellbent on qualifying for the next season of Biggest Loser?

No. There’s an even crazier reason: It’s the food!”

He has some pretty bad examples in there and once again reminding me “I will never eat a fastfood burger again!”

Go ahead, read it and “shock yourself” to change.

Deb

Leave a Reply

