Resisting to change…

I often wonder what’s it that makes change so hard for many people?

Working with people on a daily bases gives you enough “insight” into peoples habits, things that makes them happy, things that makes them unhappy, things they want to change and things they want to leave untouched and it’s really hard to find a pattern, to find a formula as we are all “so different but so much of the same”.

If I look back in my life I find myself as one of “these people”… I was not one for changing, in fact I was very set on my old ways, the type that would look at you and say “This is who I am! I am NOT going to change, if you don’t like me, deal with it. I was born this way, I will die this way”. Crazy, uh?

Today I can’t even identify with those sentences anymore, much less comprehend where did I got the belief of “being” as such a permanent, unchangable form. Today I think that the concept of “ME’ is very fluid… if I don’t like how something is, I change it.

What got me into the path of changing myself was, of course, Jim Rohn and his classic quote:

“for things to change, you have to change”

That helped me to understand that I could not keep being who I was, keep doing what I was doing and expecting different results. I think it was Einstein that said that the definition of insanity is doing the same things over and over and expecting different results.

I see that all the time when it comes to my weight loss challenge participants… someone that has been doing “Weight watchers” for 20 years and wants to keep doing it. With all due respect to “my people” and to weight watchers, if that plan was working the person wouldn’t need to be here, right now. Isn’t it time to change your approach?!

People will always try to repeat “what they know” even if that isn’t helping them to achieve what they want. I can try to come up with all sorts of answers to why is that… conditioning, been scared of the unknown, lack of knowledge, been afraid of succeeding, but the truth is, I don’t know why people resist to change.

So I invite you to think about yourself, think about your resistance (if it’s the case) to new things and come up with your own answers…. What are the old habits that you keep repeating that are stopping you to achieve the results that you want???

Leave a Reply

