Healthy Cooking Experiment

Here’s the deal… this year I’ve decided to try to eat healthier and to try all the things “I don’t like” and see if I can find a way to like them. With that I also know for a fact that if you want to eat healthy you have no choice other than eating home cooked meals!
Putting 2 and 2 together = I have to cook more ofter. I know you can call me a genius 🙂

So every Friday or Saturday I will try a new “Healthy Recipe” and I will post it in here. By the end of the month I will “elect” my favourite that will be featured at my monthly newsletter. I will commit to update the blog with the new recipe no later than Monday.

Last night we tried a slow cooker recipe. Interesting thing for me as I am not used to the whole concept of slow cooking! We have that “thing” seating in the basement since we got married (Warren’s mom gave it to us) and I never opened it. In Brazil we cook a lot with pressure cooker (many of you don’t even know what’s it) and in my opinion the pressure cooker can cook any slow cooker recipe but faster so I don’t really understand why wait for 4 hours for a meal that can be done in 40?
I guess it’s great for people that leave the house, let it all cooking and come back for a “ready to eat” dinner…it’s not my case.
Either way, with my “try new things” mentality I am open to trying it.

Enough talking, here we go.

Disclaimer: This recipe was done by Warren 🙂 I just had the joy of eating and judging it!

Chicken Marrakesh

Ready in 4 hours
Makes 6 Servings

1 Onion, sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
15 oz can chickenpeas (garbanzo beans) drained and rinsed
2 lb boneless chicken breasts, chopped into 2 to 3 inch pieces
1/2 tbs cumin
1/2 tbs turmeric
1/4 tbs cinnamon
1/2 tbs black ground pepper
14 1/2 oz can chopped tomatoes

1. Combine the first 6 ingredients in a slow cooker.
In a small bowl, mix together the spices. Sprinkle over the food in the slow cooker. Add the chopped tomatoes.
Cover and cook on high for 4 hours.

Nutrients per serving: Calories: 421, Total fat: 15g, Sat fat: 3g, Trans fat: 0g, Cholesterol: 123 mg, Sodium: 384 mg, Carbs: 36g, Fiber: 8g, Sugars: 8g, Protein: 37g, Iron: 4mg.

In my opinion:
The food looked really good. I didn’t care much for the smell so I already knew I would not like some of the spices.
As this was done by Warren he followed the recipe to the “T” (which is great) I normally have a challenge following instructions…lol and I tend to change it and not try new flavours.
At first bit I immediately knew what was it, the cinnamon! I really didn’t like it in there… I am not big into mixing sweet & salt flavours, the cinnamon makes me feel like it’s a dessert and just didn’t please my taste buds.
The other interesting thing was the sweet potato. Warren told me he made sure he bough sweet potatoes and not yams (not sure if it’s right spelling) to which I reacted with a “How come?”
Apparently some people cook yams instead of sweet potato, which made me question what are sweet potatoes fries at restaurants made of? They are orange and what we had was more like a dark yellow. Also the good for you sweet potato is sweet potato or yams? Confusing, I know 🙂
Overall I enjoyed it, loved the chickpeas, the potatoes and of course the chicken itself. It’s also a very filling dish I would not me able to go for seconds.

Anyway I would give this recipe a go again but this time changing a thing or two in there.

Leave a Reply

